Video Resources

10 tips for using audio more effectively inmultimedia storieshttps://casn.berkeley.edu/wp-content/uploads/resource_files/10_tips_for_using_audio_more_effectively_in_multimedia_stories_Poynter..pdf
23 guidelines for journalists to safely cover protests
https://www.poynter.org/reporting-editing/2020/23-guidelines-for-journalists-to-safely-cover-protests-this-weekend/
5 Fast Tips for Fast-Cut Editing https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tgEWNHVbk3U
7 Rules for Recording Policehttps://reason.com/archives/2012/04/05/7-rules-for-recording-police
7 Things I Learned This Year As A Filmmakerhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4v3-ITJHko 
7 Things PHOTOGRAPHERS NEED TO KNOW About FILMMAKINGhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=saeJWahpJf0
7 Tips for Nailing Your Narrative Film Pitchhttp://www.indiewire.com/article/7-tips-for-nailing-your-narrative-film-pitch-20150923
A Complete Guide to Documentary Filmmakinghttp://www.premiumbeat.com/blog/a-complete-guide-to-documentary-filmmaking/
Adding Movement to Photography with Stillmotion https://vimeo.com/84874353
Advanced Handheld Camera Techniqueshttp://filmmakeriq.com/2014/05/advanced-handheld-camera-techniques/
Derek Freese Documentary https://www.derekfreesefilm.org 
Documentary Filmmakers’ Statement of Best Practices in Fair Usehttps://cmsimpact.org/code/documentary-filmmakers-statement-of-best-practices-in-fair-use/
film festival secrets http://filmfestivalsecrets.com/
Handheld Filming – The Great Advantages https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=7&v=e53LrV3-43g
How to Become a Filmmaker and Ways of Breaking Into the Film Industry
https://nofilmschool.com/how-to-become-a-filmmaker
How to record natural sounds + fill your film with ambiencehttps://vimeo.com/blog/post/recording-great-natural-sounds-in-camera
How to Shoot an Interview https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FElRjwAeiRw 
How to shoot and edit a day to night time-lapse with your DSLR https:// www.youtube.com/watch?v=_SVFHO1FOik 
How to Write a Photographer’s Bio…Or How NOT tohttp://www.diyphotography.net/how-to-write-a-photographers-bioor-how-not-to/
Indiewire’s Ultimate Guide to Documentary Filmmakinghttp://www.indiewire.com/article/indiewires-ultimate-guide-to-documentary-filmmaking-20150515
Naturally guide your interviewee to look into the lenshttps://vimeo.com/blog/post/naturally-guiding-your-interviewee-to-look-into-th
Press Kit Essentials: What Should – and Shouldn’t – Be In This Crucial Piece http://filmfestivalsecrets.com/ffs/2017/press-kit-essentials
Surviving Your First Day on Sethttps://fstoppers.com/education/ film-set-fundamentals-7-tips-surviving-your-first-day-set-70363
The BEST daily resource for the expanding world of motion and video http://www.ai-ap.com/publications/motion-arts-pro/
The best-kept secret in documentaries? It’s all in the casting.https://www.washingtonpost.com/entertainment/the-best-kept-secret-in-documentaries-its-all-in-the-casting/2020/08/12/7ac7be6e-db19-11ea-809e-b8be57ba616e_story.html
The six primary types of documentarieshttps://www.videomaker.com/article/c06/18423-six-primary-styles-of-documentary-production
Using a Field Mixer to get Better Audio https://www.videomaker.com/courses/17392-using-a-field-mixer-to-get-better-audio
Video Frame Rates: What You Need to Know https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dR7B8uKc0JU&feature=youtu.be
Footsteps | A trio of Foley Artists and How Movie Sounds are Madehttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ylxHGH4kG9Q
Don’t Fudge on Your Budget: Toeing the Line Itemshttp://www.documentary.org/feature/dont-fudge-your-budget-toeing-line-items
Film Budgeting Basicshttps://digitalfilms.wordpress.com/2012/08/21/film-budging-basics/
How to Make a Documentary: Part 2 – Funding, Financing and Budgetinghttp://www.videomaker.com/article/14849-how-to-make-a-documentary-part-2-funding-financing-and-budgeting
Videomaker: How to build a video budgethttp://www.videomaker.com/article/18168-how-to-build-a-video-budget
5 Video Ideas to Sell Your Client On http://www.videomaker.com/ videonews/2015/05/5-video-ideas-to-sell-your-client-on
7 Income Streams for Creative Entrepreneurshttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cblQ3QQsbLM&feature=emb_logo
10 Gimbal Moves To Make ANYONE Look EPIC!https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=idFRHEbYp8Q
88 cinematographers and ASC members advice. http://www.theblackandblue.com/2013/12/16/88-cinematographers-advice/ 
A Guide to Handheld Camera Operating with Sean Bobbitt, BSC,https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IHcYjKpJb-I 
Filmmaking 101 A Beginners Guide – Become A Ninja!https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-O2j-e8d-i4
How to Film a Sequence From Start to Finish | B-roll Breakdownhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eup2Xj3mSQ0
How to Shoot an Interviewhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7ENEuqXDwY&t=17s
How to shoot in sequences with the Three Over One Rulehttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s39vqLKNK0Y
Turn Your Tripod Into a Vertical Sliderhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SsaXdiZiIIA
Camera angles – a complete guidehttps://www.videomaker.com/how-to/shooting/your-complete-guide-to-camera-angles/
Free Crew Deal Memo Templatehttps://www.junglesoftware.com/great_articles/Crew_Deal_Memo.php
Warning: Sign That Deal Memo at Your Own Riskhttps://www.theblackandblue.com/2011/07/26/deal-memo/
Documentary Editing http://newdocediting.com/products/documentary-editing-ebook/
Filmora for Windowshttps://filmora.wondershare.net/tech-spec.html
Filmora Video Editor for Mac specs: https://filmora.wondershare.net/mac-tech-spec.html
Kuleshov Effect – A filmmaker’s most powerful tool
https://www.videomaker.com/article/c10/18236-the-kuleshov-effect-understanding-video-editing’s-most-powerful-tool
New Documentary Story Telling Articlehttps://newdocediting.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/4-NewDoc-Storytelling-Article.pdf
Opening Credits: Who, What, Where, When and Whyhttps://newenglandfilm.com/magazine/2012/08/credits
Wondershare Filmora Video Editor YouTube Channelhttps://www.youtube.com/channel/UCY_LMaDAoa6hwHKBE4Dx56w
What are proxies and why do we need them?
https://www.videomaker.com/how-to/editing/what-are-proxies-and-why-do-we-need-them/
Cutting Edge Editing Documentaryhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-uJOyT_7i4 
Gordon Quinn: Ethics of Documentary Filmmakinghttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_981ZEM99e0 
Cuts and Transitions 101https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OAH0MoAv2CI 
Points North Fellowshiphttps://pointsnorthinstitute.org/artist-programs/
Film Festival Judging Guide: Documentary Film Categoryhttps://info.filmfestivalcircuit.com/blog/film-festival-judging-guide-documentary-film-category
Film Festival Judging Guide: Drama Film Categoryhttps://info.filmfestivalcircuit.com/blog/film-festival-judging-guide-drama-film-category
Attention, Filmmakers: Festival Deadlines Before the End of the Yearhttp://www.indiewire.com/article/attention-filmmakers-13-festival-deadlines-before-the-end-of-the-year-20150630 
FilmFreeway portal to film festivalshttps://filmfreeway.com/
FiLMiC Pro. Best video camera app,https://www.filmicpro.com/
iPhone-specific mics, such as those from Rodehttp://www.rode.com/microphones/mobile
Shure MV88+ gets some good reviewshttps://www.shure.com/en-US/products/microphones/mv88plus
Get your next gighttps://vimeo.com/for-hire/jobs
Storyhunter the world’s only unified video production marketplace https://storyhunter.com/home/
Video Professionals Find Work.
https://colaborator.com/
FISCAL SPONSORSHIPhttp://www.der.org/services/fiscal-sponsor/#eligiblity
Fiscal Sponsorshiphttp://www.documentary.org/sponsorship 
Fiscal Sponsorshiphttps://filmmakerscollab.org/fiscalsponsorship/
Fiscal sponsorship-CIDhttps://documentaries.wordpress.com/sponsorship-info/  
An inside look at the Gucci Tribeca Documentary Film Fundhttps://www.videomaker.com/how-to/documentary/how-to-win-a-grant-an-inside-look-at-the-gucci-tribeca-documentary-film-fund/
Diversity Development FunHow to Apply Catapult film fund
http://catapultfilmfund.org/how-to-apply/
A Massive List of Fall 2015 Grants All Filmmakers Should Know Abouthttps://nofilmschool.com/2015/09/massive-list-fall-2015-grants-all-filmmakers-should-know-about
A Massive List of Spring 2015 Grants All Filmmakers Should Know Abouthttps://nofilmschool.com/2014/02/massive-list-spring-2015-grants-all-filmmakers-should-know-about
A Massive List of Summer 2015 Grants All Filmmakers Should Know Abouthttps://nofilmschool.com/2015/06/massive-list-summer-2015-grants-all-filmmakers-should-know-about?
A Massive List of Winter Grants All Filmmakers Should Know Abouthttps://nofilmschool.com/2015/11/massive-list-winter-2015-2016-grants-all-filmmakers-should-know-about
Film Grants Directoryhttp://www.filmdaily.tv/grants
Ford Foundation Center for Social Justice JustFilms inquiryhttp://www.fordfoundation.org/work/our-grants/justfilms/justfilms-inquiry/ 
Here’s How These Filmmakers Self-Distributed Their Documentary…And Actually Made Moneyhttps://www.indiewire.com/2015/06/heres-how-these-filmmakers-self-distributed-their-documentary-and-actually-made-money-61050/
How To Raise Money For Your First Movie by Filmmakerhttps://filmcourage.com/2015/03/31/how-to-raise-money-for-your-first-movie-by-filmmaker-author-mark-freiburger/
Jerome Foundation Film,Video and Digital Production Grantshttp://www.jeromefdn.org/apply/mn-nyc-film-video
Journalism & Media Grant Guidelineshttps://www.macfound.org/info-grantseekers/grantmaking-guidelines/media-grant-guidelines/
Daily alerts from Philanthropy News Digesthttps://candid.org/stay-up-to-date/newsletters?fcref=pg
Philanthropy News Digest publishes RFPs and notices of awards http://philanthropynewsdigest.org/rfps
ProFellow information on professional and academic fellowshipshttps://www.profellow.com/
Cutting Mini Docs  https://vimeo.com/145225172 
Cutting Mini Docs,https://vimeo.com/144825659
Documentary Films – John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundationhttps://www.macfound.org/documentaryfilm/search/all 
Jody Lee Lipes Narrates a Scene From ‘Ballet 422’http://artsbeat.blogs.nytimes.com/2015/02/05/jody-lee-lipes-narrates-a-scene-from-ballet-422/?
Julia Reichert and the Work of Telling Working-Class Storieshttps://filmquarterly.org/2019/12/09/julia-reichert-and-the-work-of-telling-working-class-stories/
Mary Ellen Mark’s “Streetwise” a documentary on Seattle street life, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5lTQgfXb87k 
Sixty-two Films That Shaped the Art of Documentary Filmmakinghttps://www.newyorker.com/culture/the-front-row/sixty-two-films-that-shaped-the-art-of-documentary-filmmaking
The 20 Greatest Documentary Filmmakers of All Timehttp://www.tasteofcinema.com/2015/the-20-greatest-documentary-filmmakers-of-all-time/1/ 
Winner of Best Short Form Programme at the BAFTA Television Awards 2019https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cS_WtQbkY8s&feature=emb_logo

How Much Video Can You Record on an iPhone?
https://www.lifewire.com/how-much-video-can-iphone-record-2000304
8 Legal Tips for Documentary Filmmakerhttp://www.indiewire.com/article/8-legal-tips-for-documentary-filmmakers-20150709
OTHER PEOPLE’S FOOTAGEhttp://www.otherpeoplesfootage.com/
Recording in public places and your First Amendment rights
https://www.videomaker.com/article/15619-recording-in-public-places-and-your-first-amendment-rights
 Kino Flo Lighting / Celeb® 450Q LED DMXhttps://www.kinoflo.com/Products%20Button/LED/Celeb%20450%20DMX/Photometrics.html
Arri Photometric / Lighting calculatorhttp://calc.arri.de/calculator
Interactive Photometrics / Lighting calculatorhttps://hivelighting.com/is-versatile/#photometrics
Kino Flo Lighting / Celeb® 450 LED DMXhttps://www.kinoflo.com/Products%20Button/LED/Celeb%20450Q%20DMX/Photometrics.html
Artlist Music / Royalty free music & SFX https://artlist.io/
Free music for their independent, non-profit film, video, or short filmshttps://mobygratis.com/
Royalty-Free Musichttp://dig.ccmixter.org/
Royalty-Free Musichttps://incompetech.com/
Royalty-Free Musichttps://incompetech.filmmusic.io/
Video Production Cost Calculatorhttps://onemarketmedia.com/video-production-cost-calculator-tool/
How To Save on Professional Video Production Costshttps://blog.storyhunter.com/a-complete-guide-how-to-save-on-professional-video-production-costs-330c9940e700
The Al Larvick Conservation Fund https://www.allarvickfund.org/grants
Commitment Grantshttp://www.mountainfilm.org/initiatives/commitment-grants
The Sundance Institute Documentary Film Programhttp://www.sundance.org/programs/documentary-film
Easy Ways to Get Your Movie Idea Out of Your Headhttp://www.nytimes.com/2015/02/05/technology/personaltech/easy-ways-to-get-your-movie-idea-out-of-your-head.html?
10 Rode Wireless GO Hacks!https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fyFbI4yOOig
5 Basic Elements of Film Sound | Filmmaking for Beginnershttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7p35QIW_UGg
Audio Editing Software Buyer’s Guide http://www.videomaker.com/article/17948-audio-editing-software-buyer%E2%80%99s-guide 
Head to Head Mic Test: Dynamic vs. Lavalier vs. Shotgun
https://www.videomaker.com/video/watch/tutorials/17206-head-to-head-mic-test-dynamic-vs-lavalier-vs-shotgun?
How to Remote Audio-Engineer Your Podcast Interviews
https://medium.com/@evanmacdonald/how-to-remote-audio-engineer-your-podcast-interviews-8bcf5c54606b
Microphone Pickup Patterns https://www.videomaker.com/courses/809-microphone-pickup- 
One-Stop Shop for Submitting to Festivalshttps://filmfreeway.com/festivals
Shotgun Microphones compared
https://www.sweetwater.com/c998–Shotgun_Microphones
Sound design: how sound helps tell your visual stories
https://www.videomaker.com/article/f04/19052-sound-design-how-sound-helps-tell-your-visual-stories
This guy sings the same song in different environments. https:// vimeo.com/channels/staffpicks/132408379 
10 Royalty-Free Music Sites Every Online Video Creator Should Knowhttp://www.adweek.com/digital/royalty-free-music/
Audio Junglehttp://audiojungle.net/
Free Sound Effectshttps://www.SoundJay.com
Freesoundhttps://www.freesound.org/
Internet Archivehttps://www.archive.org 
mobygratis, a resource for independent and non-profit filmmakershttp://www.mobygratis.com/ 
Music Bedhttps://www.musicbed.com/
Pro Sound Effectshttps://www.prosoundeffects.com/
Public Domain Soundshttp://pdsounds.org/
SoundBible.com offers free sound cliphttps://www.SoundBible.com
Soundsnaphttps://www.soundsnap.com/
 Table Top Tripod Legshttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B076F4ZTW9?ref_=pe_623860_70668520_dpLink
 Table Top Tripod Legshttps://www.amazon.com/Koolehaoda-Travel-Portable-Compact-Desktop/dp/B00LS3L8E0?ref_=ast_sto_dp
 Table Top Tripod Legshttps://www.amazon.com/Moman-Tabletop-Release-Aluminum-Housing/dp/B07L3RN7ZK?ref_=ast_sto_dp  
Manfrotto Table Top Tripod Legshttps://www.manfrottospares.com/209-parts.html 
Mini Table Top Tripodhttps://www.huntsphotoandvideo.com/detail_page.cfm?productid=MTPIXIB&mfg=Manfrotto&show=yes
Really Right Stuff Pocket Pod  (best/costliest)https://www.reallyrightstuff.com/pocket-tripod
LightSpectrumPro EVO measure the color temperature of a lighthttps://apps.apple.com/us/app/lightspectrum-pro/id468368751
PromptSmart Pro – Teleprompterhttps://apps.apple.com/us/app/promptsmart-pro-teleprompter/id894811756
Rugged, reliable computer programmable keypadshttps://xkeys.com/
Skater/dollyhttps://www.amazon.com/SYL-Glide-Gear-Skater-Dolly/dp/B007K801PE/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8
Skater/dollyhttps://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1353132-REG/vidpro_sk_22_professional_skater_dolly_kit.html
The Differences Between All-I and IPB Compressionhttps://www.premiumbeat.com/blog/differences-all-i-ipb-compression/
Videomaker Magazinehttps://www.videomaker.com/
Also, here’s a fun compilation of kinetic typography https://www.creativebloq.com/typography/examples-kinetic-typography-11121304
A Brief Look at Texting and the Internet in Filmhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFfq2zblGXw
Art of the Remote Interview https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRJfdZ-ilMw 
Improve Your Zoom Audio Quality in 2020 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tr9v1STtI6Y
Kit Inventory used by PBS for remote interviewshttps://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1gtpuJue4KRgG_TwUj1BlZ6vnXlztehYyYZxDY78LDXg/edit#gid=0
Lights, Camera, Interview: Getting the Most out of a Video Interviewhttps://www.theopennotebook.com/2020/04/21/lights-camera-interview-getting-the-most-out-of-a-video-interview/
Self-Documentation__CC BY-NChttps://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1JL1CXwGeM-LTlfvW5bAb_zJGdlHDanqjz3D9jZNs9NM/edit?
The Top 21 frame.io Insider Articles of 2021
https://blog.frame.io/2022/01/03/top-21-articles-of-2021/
Editing Tips – How To Make ANY Song Fit Your Videohttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8dR0kk_de4